Quigley named as Vice-Chair of Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus

Mon. February 23, 2015 2:45 PM

rep. mike quigley (d-il)

Washington, DC - Today, U.S. Congressman Mike Quigley (IL-05) was appointed Vice-Chair of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus for the 114th Congress. 

"As an active member of the Equality Caucus since I was elected to Congress, it has been an honor to advocate for the LGBT community on issues ranging from marriage equality and immigration reform to blood donation policies and ENDA," said Rep. Quigley. "I look forward to furthering my efforts in this new capacity as Vice-Chair to ensure all LGBT Americans have equal access to the rights and benefits they deserve."

"Mike Quigley has been a true champion of equality long before he came to Congress," said Equality Caucus Co-Chair Rep. Jared Polis. "He stepped out early and picked up the cause of nondiscrimination on behalf of the LGBT community. He's been one of the strongest voices for overturning the outdated and discriminatory FDA ban on gay and bi men donating blood. The Equality Caucus is privileged to have him join as a Vice-Chair and continue leading efforts for full equality under the law."

"Congressman Mike Quigley has been a leader in the fight for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender equality for his entire career in elected office," said JoDee Winterhof, Vice President for Policy and Political Affairs at the Human Rights Campaign. "Our community has been able to count on Mike Quigley to be a champion—fighting for marriage equality, non-discrimination protections, equal benefits and safety from violence. As a new Vice-Chair of the LGBT Equality Caucus, we look forward to continuing our work together toward full equality."

The Equality Caucus is Co-Chaired by the six open LGBT members of the House of Representatives: Representatives Jared Polis (D-CO), David Cicilline (D-RI), Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), and Mark Takano (D-CA).

The returning Vice-Chairs of the Caucus are Representatives Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Diana DeGette (D-CO), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Mike Honda (D-CA), and Adam Schiff (D-CA). The five other new Vice-Chairs include Representatives Ted Deutch (D-FL), Dan Kildee (D-MI), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), and Ted Lieu (D-CA).

The Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus was established in the U.S. House of Representatives in June 2008 by Co-Chairs Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Barney Frank (D-MA), along with Members of Congress who were strongly committed to achieving the full enjoyment of human rights for LGBT people in the United States and around the world. The Caucus serves as a resource for Members of Congress and their staff and works toward the extension of equal rights, the repeal of discriminatory laws, the elimination of hate-motivated violence, and the improved health and well-being for all regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity and expression.

Since his election to Congress in 2009, Rep. Quigley has been a tireless advocate for the LGBT community. Most recently, Rep. Quigley was an original cosponsor of the International Human Rights Defense Act. Previously, he called on Illinois state legislators to pass marriage equality and celebrated when that day came. He is a co-sponsor of the original Respect for Marriage Act of 2009, and has lent his support to the national NOH8 Campaign, a global visual art protest against legislation banning gay marriage. Prior to the Supreme Court overturning the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) in 2013, Rep. Quigley was a critical opponent of the law and hosted a DOMA field forum to investigate the negative impacts of the law on individuals and families in Chicago. In the fall of 2009, Rep. Quigley was inducted into the Chicago Gay and Lesbian Hall of Fame for his work as a Cook County Commissioner to extend benefits to LGBT employees.