'NOH8 on the Hill' draws support from Illinois members of Congress

Tue. June 25, 2013 10:27 AM by GoPride.com News Staff

rep. kelly: 'love can never be silenced'

photo credit // noh8campaign.com
Chicago, IL - The NOH8 Campaign this week released the latest installment of the "No H8 on the Hill" photo series, which includes pictures of 98 Representatives and two Senators taking a stand for marriage equality as the nation prepares for the imminent U.S. Supreme Court ruling on the constitutionality of the Defense of Marriage Act and California's Proposition 8.

This year's series by photographer Adam Bouska included the first Republican to come out in support of LGBT rights, Florida Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen.

"Our nation is based on the principle of equality. That is what this is all about," said Rep. Ros-Lehtinen.

Also included are inspiring photos of Illinois members of Congress, Reps. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL08), Luis Gutierrez (D-IL04), Robin Kelly (D-IL02) and Brad Schneider (D-IL10).

"Love can never be silenced," said Rep. Kelly. "We're created equally and therefore have the right to love equally and I am proud to stand up for that right."

Rep. Duckworth said, "The LGBT community is entitled to the same rights afforded to everyone else. My view on LGBT equality is rooted in love."

"I've been an outsider most of my life and people fought for me and fought for people like me to be where I am today," said Rep. Gutierrez. "Therefore I am a fighter who still dreams of a world with NOH8."

Rep. Schneider said he was proud to join the campaign.

"This comes down to fundamental fairness, and all couples should have the opportunity to share their love and commitment through marriage," he said. 

Rep. Krysten Sinema of Arizona, the first openly bisexual person in Congress, and Rep. Mark Takano the first openly gay person of color in Congress were also included in the photo shoot, which included 67 Representatives and two Senators in open support of gay rights.

This is the third year of the "No H8 on the Hill" photo sessions, which are organized by Rep. Alan Lowenthal (CA-47). The event took place in Washington, D.C., on June 13. 

In full, the senators, Congressmen and Congresswomen who took part in NOH8 on The Hill III were Sen. Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH03), Rep Xavier Becerra (D-CA34), Rep. Timothy Bishop (D-NY01), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR01), Rep. Bruce Braley (D-IA01), Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA26), Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA29), Rep. Matt Cartwright (D-PA17), Rep. David Cicilline (RI01), Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY09), Rep. Wm. Lacy Clay (D-MO01), Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO05), Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-VA11), Rep. Joseph Crowley (D-NY14), Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR04), Rep Suzan DelBene (D-WA01), Rep. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL08), Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD04), Rep. Lois Frankel (D-FL22), Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH11), Rep. Joe Garcia (D-FL26), Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-IL04), Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI01), Rep. Denny Heck (D-WA10), Rep. Steven Horsford (NV04), Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD05), Rep. Jared Huffman (CA02), Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX30) and Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA04).

Plus Rep. William Keating (D-MA09), Rep. Robin Kelly (D-IL02), Rep. Dan Kildee (D-MI05), Rep. Annie Kuster (D-NH02), Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA02), Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D-CA47), Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM01), Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA06), Rep. Jim McDermott (D-WA07), Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY06), Rep. George Miller (D-CA11), Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI04), Rep. James Moran (D-VA08), Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY10), Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA32), Rep. Gloria Negrete McLeod (D-CA35), Rep. Donald Payne (D-NJ10), Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA52), Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI02), Rep. Jared Polis (D-CO02), Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL27), Rep. Raul Ruiz (D-CA36), Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA46), Rep. Brad Schneider (D-IL10), Rep. Brad Sherman (D-CA30), Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA09), Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA15), Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA41), Rep. John Tierney (D-MA06), Rep. Dina Titus (D-NV01), Rep. Juan Vargas (D-CA51), Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX33), Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY07), Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA33), Rep. Peter Welch (D-VTAL) and Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-FL24).

On the Web: https://gopride.com/Z8ft