Equality Illinois Endorses LGBTQ Candidates For Illinois General Assembly

Fri. September 18, 2020 10:03 AM by GoPride.com News Staff

photo credit // istock.com/moussa81

Record number of LGBTQ candidates running for Illinois General Assembly

Equality Illinois, the state's civil rights organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, and queer Illinoisans, announced endorsements of a record number of LGBTQ candidates running for the Illinois General Assembly in a general election.

"We are excited to endorse eleven out LGBTQ candidates for the Illinois House of Representatives and two out LGBTQ candidates for local offices. As an organization that believes strongly in LGBTQ representation in roles of civic leadership, we are excited to see so many openly LGBTQ people from across Illinois pursuing public service," said Justin DeJong, Board Chair of Equality Illinois, a 501(c)(4) organization. "Representation at tables of power matters when it comes to passing inclusive policies and for changing hearts and minds by sharing our stories. We are especially grateful for the leadership of our out LGBTQ incumbents: House Majority Leader Greg Harris, State Rep. Kelly Cassidy, State Rep. Lamont Robinson, State Rep. Sam Yingling, and State Rep. Yoni Pizer."

LGBTQ candidates endorsed by Equality Illinois for the Illinois House are:

State Rep. Lamont Robinson (House District 5 - Chicago)

Illinois House Majority Leader Greg Harris (House District 13 - Chicago)

State Rep. Kelly Cassidy (House District 14 - Chicago)

Michelle Darbro (House District 20 - Chicago)

Ken Mejia-Beal (House District 42 - Lisle)

Maggie Trevor (House District 54 - Rolling Meadows)

State Rep. Sam Yingling (House District 62 - Grayslake)

Brian Sager (House District 63 - Woodstock)

Karla Bailey-Smith (House District 88 - Bloomington)

Seth Wiggins (House District 90 - Dixon)

Kody Czerwonka (House District 110 - Montrose)

Equality Illinois also endorsed out LGBTQ candidates for the McLean County Board:

Val Laymon (District 7 - Bloomington)

Jackie Gunderson (District 9 - Bloomington)