Equality Illinois PAC issues early endorsements

Fri. January 17, 2014 10:03 AM by GoPride.com News Staff

Chicago, IL - The Equality Illinois Political Action Committee (PAC) Friday issued its early endorsements of legislative candidates running for office in the March 18, 2014, primary election who have strong voting records on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) issues, particularly regarding the freedom to marry.

"Last year's legislative session was a banner year for advancing the interests of LGBT Illinoisans, particularly passage of the Religious Freedom and Marriage Fairness Act, and these members of the Illinois Senate and House of Representatives were at the forefront of that progress," said Jeremy Gottschalk, President of the Equality Illinois PAC Board of Directors.

Gottschalk noted that during the debate on the freedom to marry, opponents threatened to challenge incumbents who supported the bill. "We have to make sure that we stand up for the people who have stood up for us," he said. "It is also important that we continue to elect pro-LGBT majorities in the legislature, because our work is not done."

Candidates receiving endorsements for Illinois Senate include Sen. Daniel Biss (D-9), Sen. John J. Cullerton (D-6), Sen. Bill Cunningham (D-18), Sen. Don Harmon (D-39), Sen. Linda Holmes (D-42), Sen. Mattie Hunter (D-3), Sen. Mike Jacobs (D-36), Sen. Steven Landek (D-12), Sen. Terry Link (D-30) and Sen. Andy Manar (D-48). 

State representative candidates receiving endorsements include Rep. Edward J. Acevedo (D-2), Rep. Jaime M. Andrade Jr. (D-40), Rep. Luis Arroyo (D-3), Rep. Maria Antonia "Toni" Berrios (D-39), Rep. Daniel J. Burke (D-1), Rep. Kelly M. Burke (D-36), Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy (D-14), Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia (D-83), Rep. Deborah Conroy (D-46), Rep. Fred Crespo (D-44), Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie (D-25), Rep. John C. D'Amico (D-15), Rep. William "Will" Davis (D-30), Rep. Anthony DeLuca (D-80), Rep. Scott Drury (D-58), Rep. Kenneth "Ken" Dunkin (D-5), Rep. Marcus C. Evans Jr. (D-33), Rep. Keith Farnham (D-43), Rep. Sara Feigenholtz (D-12), Rep. Laura Fine (D-17), Rep. La Shawn K. Ford (D-8), Rep. Jack D. Franks (D-63), Rep. Robyn Gabel (D-18), Rep. Esther Golar (D-6), Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth (D-92), Rep. Gregory Harris (D-13), Rep. Elizabeth "Lisa" Hernandez (D-24), Rep. Jay Hoffman (D-113), Rep. Frances Ann Hurley (D-35), Rep. Thaddeus Jones (D-29), Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit (D-84), Rep. Lou Lang (D-16), Rep. Camille Lilly (D-78), Rep. Michael J. Madigan (D-22), Rep. Natalie A. Manley (D-98), Rep. Robert Martwick (D-19), Rep. Emily McAsey (D-85), Rep. Christian L. Mitchell (D-26), Rep. Martin J. Moylan (D-55), Rep. Michelle Mussman (D-56), Rep. Elaine Nekritz (D-57), Rep. Al Riley (D-38), Rep. Robert "Bob" Rita (D-28), Rep. Ron Sandack (R-81), Rep. Carol Sente (D-59), Rep. Elgie R. Sims (D-34), Rep. Mike Smiddy (D-71), Rep. Cynthia Soto (D-4), Rep. Ed Sullivan Jr. (R-51), Rep. Silvana Tabares (D-21), Rep. Andre Thapedi (D-32), Rep. Arthur Turner (D-9), Rep. Patrick Verschoore (D-72), Rep. Lawrence "Larry" Walsh Jr. (D-86), Rep. Emanuel "Chris" Welch (D-7), Rep. Ann M. Williams (D-11), Rep. Kathleen Willis (D-77), Rep. Sam Yingling (D-62) and Rep. Michael J. Zalewski (D-23). 

The Equality Illinois PAC is the non-partisan political action affiliate of Equality Illinois, the state's oldest and largest LGBT advocacy organization for LGBT Illinoisans. More EQIL PAC endorsements for other legislative races and in the statewide contests will be made in the coming weeks.

From a news release