Windy City Times presents 30 Under 30 Awards

Thu. June 27, 2013 6:23 AM by News Staff

Ceremony begins at 5:30 p.m., Thursday, June 27, 2013 at Center on Halsted

Chicago, IL - Windy City Times will recognize 30 outstanding LGBT individuals and allies during its 30 Under 30 Awards ceremony on Thurs., June 27.

Each honoree has made substantial to the LGBT community in the fields of entertainment, politics, health, activism, academics, sports and other areas.

Hundreds of people have been honored by the paper in the more than 10 years since the awards were established. Most honorees have gone on to great success in their careers and educations, including working for the Obama presidential campaign and administration, plus individual successes in music, legal, professional and academic careers.

This year's honorees are: Abraham Akande, 18; Anthony Alfano, 22; Van Binfa, 25; Sarah Brewster, 28; Terrence Chappell, 28; Josh "JDA" Davila, 28; Joel De Leon, 17; Joseph Erbentraut, 27; De'Borah Garner, 25; Patrick Gill, 24; Leslie Gutierrez, 28; Kyle Hennings, 25; Andrew Hensley, 27; Trisha Lee Holloway; Nico Lang, 25; Emma Leff, 17; Sarah Lu, 28; Jane Merrill, 22; Joy Messinger, 30; Lark Mulligan, 24; Randall Ortman, 29; Pidgeon Pagonis, 27; Nikki Pashka, 29; Luis Roman, 23; Betsy Rubinstein, 26; Jen Sabella, 28; Megan Sieberg, 28; Zach Stafford, 23; Marvin Thompson, 25; Crispin Torres, 28; Annie, 26; and Christy Walker, 28. To view complete bios on the honorees visit Windy City Times.

30 Under 30, sponsored by Windy City Times, AIDS Foundation of Chicago, Center on Halsted and Chicago House, begins at 5:30 p.m. at Center on Halsted, 3656 N. Halsted.