Windy City Times receives honor from LGBTQ journalists association

Sat. December 11, 2021 10:51 AM by News Staff

windy city times ceased publication in 2020

photo credit // facebook/tracy baim

Windy City Times covered Chicago’s LGBTQ community for decades before dropping print publication in 2020

NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists this week announced that the Windy City Times is the 2021 recipient of the NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists Legacy Award.

The award was created to recognize an outlet, publication or news organization that has exhibited innovative, high-quality and sustained news coverage of the LGBTQ community over an extended period of time. 

NLGJA honored Windy City Times for its decades of coverage. 

Windy City Times was founded in Sept. 1985 by Jeff McCourt, Bob Bearden, Drew Badanish, and Tracy Baim. In 2000, Baim purchased the paper from McCourt and served as publisher before joining the Chicago Reader in 2018.

As the lone surviving LGBTQ newspaper in Chicago, Windy City Times ceased publication in Sept. 2020, moving to a digital-only format. 

Windy City Times was inducted into the Chicago LGBT Hall of Fame in Oct. 2020.