Ravinia announces 2020 lineup, including Patti LaBelle, Macy Gray and Indigo Girls

Thu. March 12, 2020 10:09 AM by GoPride.com News Staff

macy gray to perform ravinia festival, july 14, 2020

photo credit // pr photo
The Ravinia Music Festival unveiled its 2020 concert schedule Thursday morning.

Ravinia is known for its musical diversity, with performers such as Patti LaBelle, Tony Bennett, Macy Gray, Sheryl Crow, Indigo Girls, and Itzhak Perlman scheduled to take the stage this year.

The Ravinia season runs from May 30 through Sept. 15 and will feature more than 120 performers and special events. For ticket information, visit Ravinia.org or call 847-266-5100.

Ravinia is located at 418 Sheridan Road in Highland Park.

The complete 2020 season schedule: 

MAY

Saturday, May 30, 7:30 p.m. — Concert Dance Inc. 

Sunday, May 31, 4:00 p.m. — Concert Dance Inc. 

JUNE

Friday, June 5, 7:00 p.m. — RSMI's Bridges for Jazz & Chamber

Wednesday, June 10, 2:00 p.m. —RSMI Master Class: Billy Childs and Rufus Reid

Friday, June 12, 6:00 p.m. —Jazz Grandstand

Friday, June 12, 8:00 p.m. — Jesse & Joy 

Saturday, June 13, 7:30 p.m. — Sheryl Crow 

Sunday, June 14, 7:30 p.m. — Jill Scott with Musiq Soulchild 

Wednesday, June 17, 7:30 p.m. — Judy Collins and Arlo Guthrie 

Thursday, June 18, 6:00 p.m. —Clara – Celebrating the bicentennial of Clara Wieck Schumann 

Thursday, June 18, 7:30 p.m. — Patti LaBelle

Friday, June 19, 6:30 p.m. — Andrew Bird / Calexico and Iron & Wine

Saturday, June 20, 7:30 p.m. — Black Violin with Soul Children of Chicago

Sunday, June 21, 7:30 p.m. — Classic Albums Live performs The Eagles' Hotel California

Wednesday, June 24, 7:00 p.m. — Collective Soul

Thursday, June 25, 7:30 p.m. — Miriam Fried & Friends Play Mozart

Friday, June 26, 7:00 p.m. — Indigo Girls / Ani DiFranco

Saturday, June 27, 7:00 p.m. — Steve Miller Band

Sunday, June 28, 7:00 p.m. — Trombone Shorty / The Roots

JULY

Wednesday, July 1, 2:00 p.m. — RSMI Master Class: Christoph Richter

Wednesday, July 1, 8:00 p.m. — John Fogerty

Friday, July 3, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings 

Friday, July 3, 7:30 p.m. —Pianist Vladimir Feltsman

Sunday, July 5, 7:30 p.m. — King Crimson

Tuesday, July 7, 7:00 p.m. — Bach's Complete Brandenburg Concertos

Wednesday, July 8, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings 

Wednesday, July 8, 7:30 p.m. — Alan Cumming and Ari Shapiro

Thursday, July 9, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings 

Thursday, July 9, 7:30 p.m. — The Sarod Trilogy

Friday, July 10, 8:00 p.m. — CSO Opening Night with Marin and Midori

Saturday, July 11, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings 

Saturday, July 11, 7:30 p.m. — All-Rachmaninoff Program

Sunday, July 12, 6:00 p.m. — Cynthia Erivo: "Legendary Women's Voices"

Monday, July 13, 2:00 p.m. — RSMI Master Class: Miriam Fried

Tuesday, July 14, 6:00 p.m. — RSMI Program for Piano & Strings

Tuesday, July 14, 7:30 p.m. — Macy Gray / Brian McKnight

Wednesday, July 15, 7:30 p.m. — Pianist Alexander Malofeev

Thursday, July 16, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings 

Thursday, July 16, 8:00 p.m. —The Passion of Joan of Arc / Voices of Light

Friday, July 17, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings 

Friday, July 17, 8:00 p.m. — Rhapsody on a Theme by Paganini

Saturday, July 18, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings 

Saturday, July 18, 8:00 p.m. — Carrie Underwood 

Sunday, July 19, 8:00 p.m. —Carrie Underwood with Ravinia Festival Orchestra

Monday, July 20, 7:30 p.m. — Jean-Efflam Bavouzet

Tuesday, July 21, 6:00 p.m. — RSMI Program for Piano & Strings

Tuesday, July 21, 7:30 p.m. — Mames Babegenush

Wednesday, July 22, 8:00 p.m. — The Lion King (2019)

Thursday, July 23, 6:00 p.m. — RSMI Program for Piano & Strings

Friday, July 24, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings

Friday, July 24, 8:30 p.m. — Chick Corea & The Spanish Heart Band with special guest Rubén Blades

Saturday, July 25, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Piano & Strings 

Saturday, July 25, 7:30 p.m. — Jim James and Teddy Abrams: The Order of Nature

Sunday, July 26, 8:00 p.m. — Dispatch

Monday, July 27, 6:00 p.m. — Leonard Bernstein's Piano Anniversaries

Tuesday, July 28, 7:30 p.m. — Pianist Conrad Tao

Wednesday, July 29, 8:00 p.m. — Daniil Trifonov Plays Beethoven

Thursday, July 30, 8:00 p.m. —Bernstein's A White House Cantata

Friday, July 31, 7:00 p.m. — Lost 80's Live

AUGUST

Saturday, August 1, 11:00 a.m. — Justin Roberts & the Not Ready for Naptime Players

Saturday, August 1, 7:30 p.m. — Beethoven's "Triple" Concerto

Sunday, August 2, 7:30 p.m. — Willie Nelson & Family 

Monday, August 3, 7:30 p.m. — Pianist Beatrice Rana

Tuesday, August 4, 6:00 p.m. — French Master Poulenc

Wednesday, August 5, 7:30 p.m. — Karapanos & Eschenbach

Thursday, August 6, 7:30 p.m. — Michelle DeYoung

Friday, August 7, 2:00 p.m. —RSMI Master Class: Michelle DeYoung

Friday, August 7, 8:00 p.m. — Eschenbach Leads Symphonie Fantastique

Saturday, August 8, 7:30 p.m. — Ode To Joy!

Sunday, August 9, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Singers Beethoven to Bel Canto 

Sunday, August 9, 5:00 p.m. — Mahler's Vienna!

Monday, August 10, 7:30 p.m. — Zukerman Trio

Wednesday, August 12, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Singers 

Wednesday, August 12, 8:00 p.m. —Ziggy Marley

Thursday, August 13, 8:00 p.m. —Diamonds and Perlman

Friday, August 14, 6:00 p.m. — From Russia With Love

Friday, August 14, 8:30 p.m. — An Evening with Michael Feinstein and Betty Buckley

Saturday, August 15, 11:00 a.m. —Laurie Berkner

Saturday, August 15, 7:30 p.m. —Itzhak Perlman Plays Mendelssohn

Sunday, August 16, 5:00 p.m. — Tchaikovsky Spectacular

Monday, August 17, 2:00 p.m. — Ravinia's Steans Music Institute RSMI Program for Singers 

Thursday, August 20, 6:00 p.m. — American Songbook with Lee Musiker

Thursday, August 20, 7:30 p.m. — Gladys Knight with Heather Headley 

Friday, August 21, 7:30 p.m. — Train with Vertical Horizon 

Saturday, August 22, 2:00 p.m. — Beckie Menzie and Tom Michael Reimagine The Beatles

Saturday, August 22, 6:00 p.m. — Beckie Menzie and Tom Michael Reimagine The Beatles

Saturday, August 22, 7:30 p.m. — Train with Vertical Horizon

Sunday, August 23, 5:00 p.m. —All's Welz That Ends Well

Sunday, August 23, 7:30 p.m. — Train with Vertical Horizon 

Monday, August 24, 6:00 p.m. — Leonard Elschenbroich: Complete Beethoven Cello Sonatas

Monday, August 24, 8:00 p.m. — Bryan Ferry 

Tuesday, August 25, 7:30 p.m. — John Hiatt and The Jerry Douglas Band 

Wednesday, August 26, 8:00 p.m. — Diana Ross 

Thursday, August 27, 8:00 p.m. — Gipsy Kings

Friday, August 28, 6:00 p.m. — Pacifica Quartet

Saturday, August 29, 2:00 p.m. — Pacifica Quartet

Saturday, August 29, 6:00 p.m. — Pacifica Quartet

Saturday, August 29, 8:30 p.m. — Tony Bennett with Antonia Bennett 

Sunday, August 30, 2:00 p.m. — Pacifica Quartet

Sunday, August 30, 6:00 p.m. — Pacifica Quartet

SEPTEMBER

Wednesday, September 2, 8:00 p.m. — The Australian Pink Floyd Show 

Saturday, September 5, 11:00 a.m. — Opera for the Young: The Pirates of Penzance

Sunday, September 6, 7:30 p.m. — John Legend with The War and Treaty 

Friday, September 11, 7:30 p.m. — Ms. Lauryn Hill 

Saturday, September 12, 11:00 a.m. — The Performer's School: Disney's Frozen Jr.

Saturday, September 12, 1:30 p.m. — The Performer's School: Disney's Frozen Jr.

Saturday, September 12, 4:00 p.m. — The Performer's School: Disney's Frozen Jr.

Saturday, September 12, 8:00 p.m. — The Beach Boys 

Sunday, September 13, 11:00 a.m. —The Performer's School: Disney's Frozen Jr.

Sunday, September 13, 6:00 p.m. — Rodrigo y Gabriela 

Monday, September 14, 6:00 p.m. —Misha Dichter's 75th Birthday

Tuesday, September 15, 6:00 p.m. — Piano Dancing with Misha and Cipa Dichter

Note that artists and programs are subject to change, and opening acts for some concerts may be announced at a later date. 
 

MORE CONTENT AFTER THESE SPONSORS

Serving the Chicago gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities. ©Copyright 2019 GoPride Networks. All rights reserved.