Gay Candidates Win Races Across the U.S.

Wed. November 3, 2004 12:00 AM by U.S. NewsWire

Washington DC - The Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund, the nation's largest gay and lesbian political action committee, announced today that 64 courageous individuals, with support from the Victory Fund, sought office at the local, state, and federal level in 27 states and the District of Columbia in 2004. Despite vicious attacks and well-funded opposition, at least 40 candidates have prevailed.

The following are some of this year's significant wins:

Julia Boseman - North Carolina State Senate (first ever gay/lesbian legislator in state)

Nicole LeFavour - Idaho State House (first ever gay/lesbian official in state)

Jeanette Mott Oxford - Missouri State House (will be only gay/lesbian in state legislature)

Rives Kistler - Oregon State Supreme Court (first openly gay statewide elected in OR; one of two current statewide nationally)

Christine Kehoe - California State Senate (state house member who won higher office)

Ed Flanagan - Vermont State Senate (first ever openly gay state senator in state)

Sam Adams - Portland (OR) City Council (first ever openly gay Portland council member)

Lupe Valdez for Dallas (TX) County Sheriff (first ever Latina lesbian sheriff)

Jennifer Veiga - Colorado State Senate (incumbent reelected)

More details and breakdowns are available at

The Victory Fund and its national donor network invested over $3 million this year alone in LGBT candidates for public office. Victory Fund endorsed candidates receive a combination of support, including: training, strategic counsel, promotion to donor network, PAC contributions and staff assistance.

"Strong openly gay elected leaders ensure our march towards true equality will not be slowed.

We can only achieve lasting change when we are at the table as voting equals," said Chuck Wolfe, president & CEO of the Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund. "Our gay and lesbian community will grow stronger as a result of both our setbacks and achievements in 2004," Wolfe added.