Theatrical Legend Charles Busch Honored at Bailiwick's 2004 Trailblazer Awards

Tue. October 5, 2004 12:00 AM

Chicago, IL - Other honorees at this year's Trailblazer Awards include Aldo Alvarez, Kevin Boyer, Rick Boynton, Linda Bubon, C. C. Carter, Ann Christopherson, and Criss Henderson.

Theatrical legend Charles Busch will be honored by Bailiwick Repertory at the annual Trailblazer Awards, to be presented on Monday, October 11, at 7:00 pm at the Mercury Theater, 3745 North Southport. The Trailblazer Awards—presented in memory of past Bailiwick Board President Larry Osburn—honor members of the GLBT community who have had an impact in fields of arts, journalism, community activism, and sports.

CHARLES BUSCH is the author and star of such plays as The Lady in Question, Red Scare on Sunset and Vampire Lesbians of Sodom, which ran five years and is one of the longest running plays in Off-Broadway and Chicago off-Loop history. His play The Tale of the Allergist’s Wife ran for 777 performances on Broadway and won Mr. Busch the Outer Circle Critics John Gassner Award and received a Tony nomination for Best Play. He wrote and starred in the film versions of his plays, Psycho Beach Party and Die Mommie Die, the latter of which won him the Best Performance Award at the Sundance Film Festival. In 2003, Mr. Busch received a special Drama Desk Award for career achievement as both performer and playwright.

Other Trailblazer Award winners to be honored that night include: Rick Boynton, Artistic Director of Marriott Lincolnshire Theater, and his partner of fourteen years Criss Henderson, Executive Director of Chicago Shakespeare Theater; Kevin Boyer of Third Coast Marketing, a co-founder of Chicago’s Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce, and a leading proponent in bring the Gay Games to Chicago in 2006; Aldo Alvarez, editor of "Blithe House Quarterly: queer fiction lives here", an online literary journal of LGBT short fiction; Linda Bubon and Ann Christopherson, founders of Women and Children First Bookstore, which has become a national landmark for GLBT resources and performance; and C. C. Carter, award-winning poet and performer. Nominations for the Trailblazer Awards are made by previous Trailblazer Award Winners, and by members of Bailiwick’s Board Members and Artistic Associates

Tickets for the Trailblazer Awards are $75 for VIP (including preferred seating and program recognition) and $50 for general admission. There is also a $25 ticket available for theater professionals. A catered reception begins the evening at 6:00, with complimentary beer and wine provided by Cullen’s Restaurant, and a silent auction. The Awards Ceremony – including entertainment, live auction, and special guests – begins at 7:00. For tickets call 773-883-1090 or order on-line at

Past Trailblazer Award Winners

Stephen Bates
Evette Cardona & Mona Noreiga
Patricia M. Logue
Terrence McNally
Renae Ogletree
Rick Paul
Karen C. Sendziak
Alderman Tom Tunney

Tracy Baim
Michael Bauer
Joel Hall
Terri Hemmert
Honorable Jan Shakowsky
Bill Zwecker

Rev. Gregory Dell
Rudy Galindo
E. Lynn Harris
Don Landers
Achy Obejas
Jeff Rossen
Dorothy Tanner

Claudia Allen
Lawrence Bommer
Michael C. Cook
Marie Kuda
Mark Tewksbury

Alexandra Billings
Larry Kramer
Greg Louganis